The OHGenWeb Project

Table of Ohio County Formations

County Date 
Parent County County Seat
Adams 1797 Hamilton West Union
Allen 1820 Shelby Lima
Ashland 1846 Wayne, Richland, Huron, Lorain Ashland
Ashtabula 1808 Trumbull, Geauga Jefferson
Athens 1805 Washington Athens
Auglaize 1848 Allen, Mercer, Darke, Hardin, Logan, Shelby, and Van Wert Wapakoneta
Belmont 1801 Jefferson, Washington Saint Clairsville
Brown 1818 Adams, Cleremont Georgetown
Butler 1803 Hamilton Hamilton
Carroll 1833 Columbiana, Stark, Harrison, Jefferson, Tuscarawas Carrollton
Champaign 1805 Green, Franklin Urbana
Clark 1818 Champaign, Madison, Greene Springfield
Clermont 1800 Hamilton Batavia
Clinton 1810 Highland, Warren Wilmington
Columbiana 1803 Jefferson, Washington Lisbon
Coshocton 1811 Muskingum, Tuscarawas Coshocton
Crawford 1820 Delaware Bucyrus
Cuyahoga 1808 Geauga Cleveland
Darke 1809 Miami Greenville
Defiance 1845 Williams, Henry, Paulding Defiance
Delaware 1808 Franklin Delaware
Erie 1838 Huron, Sandusky Sandusky
Fairfield 1800 Ross, Washington Lancaster
Fayette 1810 Ross, Highland Washington Court House
Franklin 1803 Ross, Wayne Co., MI Columbus
Fulton 1850 Lucas, Henry, Williams Wauseon
Gallia 1803 Washington, Adams Gallipolis
Geauga 1806 Trumbull Chardon
Greene 1803 Hamilton, Ross Xenia
Guernsey 1810 Belmont, Muskingum Cambridge
Hamilton 1790 Original County Cincinnati
Hancock 1820 Logan Findlay
Hardin 1820 Logan Kenton
Harrison 1813 Jefferson, Tuscarawas Cadiz
Henry 1820 Shelby Napoleon
Highland 1805 Ross, Adams, Clermont Hillsboro
Hocking 1818 Athens, Ross, Fairfield Logan
Holmes 1824 Coshocton, Wayne, Tuscarawas Millersburg
Huron 1815 Portage, Cuyahoga Norwalk
Jackson 1816 Scioto, Gallia, Athens, Ross Jackson
Jefferson 1797 Washington Steubenville
Knox 1808 Fairfield Mount Vernon
Lake 1840 Geauga, Cuyahoga Painesville
Lawrence 1815 Gallia, Scioto Ironton
Licking 1808 Fairfield Newark
Logan 1818 Champaign Bellefontaine
Lorain 1822 Huron, Cuyahoga, Medina Elyria
Lucas 1835 Wood, Sandusky, Huron Toledo
Madison 1810 Franklin London
Mahoning 1846 Columbiana, Trumbull Youngstown
Marion 1820 Delaware Marion
Medina 1812 Portage Medina
Meigs 1819 Gallia, Athens Pomeroy
Mercer 1820 Darke Celina
Miami 1807 Montgomery Troy
Monroe 1813 Belmont, Washington, Guernsey Woodsfield
Montgomery 1803 Hamilton, Wayne Co., MI Dayton
Morgan 1817 Washington, Guernsey, Muskingum McConnellsville
Morrow 1848 Knox, Marion, Delaware, Richland Mount Gilead
Muskingum 1804 Washington, Fairfield Zanesville
Noble 1851 Monroe, Washington, Morgan, Guernsey Caldwell
Ottawa 1840 Erie, Sandusky, Lucas Port Clinton
Paulding 1820 Darke Paulding
Perry 1818 Washington, Fairfield, Muskingum New Lexington
Pickaway 1810 Ross, Fairfield, Franklin Circleville
Pike 1815 Ross, Scioto, Adams Waverly
Portage 1808 Trumbull Ravenna
Preble 1808 Montgomery, Butler Eaton
Putnam 1820 Shelby Ottawa
Richland 1808 Fairfield Mansfield
Ross 1798 Adams, Washington Chillicothe
Sandusky 1820 Huron Fremont
Scioto 1803 Adams Portsmouth
Seneca 1820 Huron Tiffin
Shelby 1819 Miami Sidney
Stark 1808 Columbiana Canton
Summit 1840   Akron
Trumbull 1800   Warren
Tuscarawas 1808 Muskingum New Philadelphia
Union 1820 Franklin, Madison, Logan, Delaware Marysville
Van Wert 1820 Darke Van Wert
Vinton 1850 Gallia, Athens, Ross, Jackson, Hocking Mc Arthur
Warren 1803 Hamilton Lebanon
Washington 1788 Original County Marietta
Wayne 1808 Columbiana Wooster
Williams 1820 Darke Bryan
Wood 1820 Indian Lands Bowling Green
Wyandot 1845 Marion, Crawford, Hardin Upper Sandusky

The above table was created by Allen Richmond SC 1998-2005

Many thanks to our previous SC!

Off site links may not be part of OHGenWeb and OHGenWeb is not responsible for their content. Limited use rights may be granted by written or electronic permission.

Web Design and Columbus, Ohio downtown at sunset photography by Sandra Quinn